Likely web scam notice: webatrades.com
May 26, 2008Looking for used cars on Craig’s List, my girlfriend and I found what appears to be a classic web escrow auto scam: Web Auto Trades. An ad we responded to (a used Honda Accord at a surprisingly low price for the mileage) claimed to be using their service, which included a “five day guarantee” if you didn’t like the car, and said we wouldn’t have to meet the seller in person. These are all signs of a typical scam: buyer beware!
Other scam signs: though their snazzy flash-based website presents them as worldwide experts in escrow services, a google search for their domain name results in zero hits, and the domain has only been registered for five days and lists no telephone contacts:
Registrant:
Domain Privacy Group, Inc.
c/o webatrades.com,
5160 Yonge St. Suite 1800
Toronto, ON M2N 6L9
CA
Domain name: webatrades.com
Administrative Contact:
Domain Privacy Group, Inc. privacy-356772@domainprivacygroup.com
c/o webatrades.com,
5160 Yonge St. Suite 1800
Toronto, ON M2N 6L9
CA
Fax:
Technical Contact:
Domain Privacy Group, Inc. privacy-356772@domainprivacygroup.com
c/o webatrades.com,
5160 Yonge St. Suite 1800
Toronto, ON M2N 6L9
CA
Fax:
Registrar of Record: Netfirms Inc.
Record expires on 2009-05-21.
Record created on 2008-05-21.
Database last updated on 2008-05-28 12:54:04.
If you are finding this post because you googled their address after considering buying a car from someone using their service, I strongly consider you to avoid doing business with them, or at least to investigate the company much more thoroughly. Check with your state’s attorney general’s office to see if they’ve heard of them or have any complaints, and also consider checking with the BBB. Be very careful not to have your money taken by escrow scams, which this company gives every appearance of being.
Here’s a screenshot of their front page, in case they pop up somewhere later under a different name.
Update: How to Avoid Escrow Fraud
Here are some useful links on escrow fraud, what it is, and how to avoid it:

I was wondering if this car is a 2002 Honda Accord for $3000.00
Yes, that’s the same car ad we saw. It had been posted to Craig’s List three times with slight variations, but the same basic information, price, and pictures.
I was on Craigslist when I saw a 2002 Honda Accord with only 66,000 miles for $3000. The deal seemed too good to be true so I emailed the seller. This is the response I got back:
Hello,
Thanks a lot for getting back to me so fast. The car is in excellent condition, no rust, accidents or any kind of damage anywhere and it doesn’t need any maintenance. The odometer shows 66,320 miles and the car gets 27/ 34 mpg. The car has a clean history and if you want to see it I’ll send you the report. Title is clear and free of liens. This 2002 Honda Accord Ex has an automatic transmission and it’s very easy to drive. Everything on the car works as it should.
My asking price is $3000. At this time I have some personal problems and I need to sell the car as fast as possible because I need the money. This is my only reason for selling this beauty otherwise I wouldn’t do it.
The deal will be handled by Web Auto Trades (webatrades.com). I have a contract with this company and they will handle the title, money transfer and deliver the car to your location. Currently the car is at their office. The best part about this is that they have a 5-days money back guarantee program. If at the end of those 5 days you decide not to keep the car you’ll get a full refund from them. If you want the car and if you have the money available all you have to do now is to register a free account with them and get back to me with the e-mail address you used. As soon as I hear that you registered I will start the deal through them. The process is very simple and risk free for both of us.
A picture album can be seen here: http://s294.photobucket.com/albums/mm112/ctynw/
Thanks,
Cathy Norman
I saw and responded to this car also, they are trying to get me to send the funds ASAP. How long as this been going on? Can we contact Craig’s list with this information. Have you heard about Ebay Vehicle Purchase Program is that better or the same scam?
Very Disappointed
“I saw and responded to this car also, they are trying to get me to send the funds ASAP. How long as this been going on?”
Definitely don’t send them the money! This kind of scam has been going on forever. They pretend to be a legitimate escrow service, in reality they are just going to take your money and then the website will disappear and you will never hear from them again.
As for how long this particular one has been going on — the domain “webatrades.com” was registered on May 21, 2008 - one week ago as of the moment I write this. My guess is that this is just one guy (or a small group) who made a fake website for an escrow company and advertises a single car until someone sends them $3000. Then they disappear and take down the website, and put it up under a different name. Maybe next time it will be webcartrades.com or web-auto-trades.com or something. They’ll advertise one more car until some idiot sends them the money, and disappear again. It probably only costs them $10 to set up the website, and they get $3000 every time somebody falls for their scam, then they make a whole new website each time, though probably with the same graphics.
The Ebay Vehicle Purchase Program is much more likely to be a real thing. I haven’t worked with them before, but Ebay is a real company with a long history. Webatrades.com doesn’t even exist…
Ebay Motors is a legitimate automobile sales service. The sellers who use it may not all be above board, thus the Vehicle Purchase Program covers fraud relating to any automobile purchase done via Ebay.
My son recently bought a truck via Ebay and is very pleased with the entire deal.
what do you think of this email i received in response to a vehicle i was inquiring about? 2003 infinity g35. i think its a scam but this person uses ebay purchase program
Hi,
First of all,i must apologize for my reticence with selling my
car.I love this car and it means a lot to me.I am forced by a bank loan
to sell it.The loan does not involved her ,but i need the money and i
must do that.The car is like new ,in perfect condition, no marks or need
for additional repairs what so ever.It has no scratches, no special
marks, no need for additional repairs what so ever.The real miles
onboard(44,217), a great car ready to be yours. It has no accident or
any engine problem.
I need to know you,even if that means by email before i sell you
the car.Even if i seem a litlle paranoid,i will not sell this car to
anyone.I took very good care of her and i feel very attached to her.
The price is $4,000 with shipping for free(if necessary in the
continental US),since my brother in law works at DAS,and he promised me
that it will cost me nothing to ship it to you.I dont want to offend you
by anything but if we are going to complete the sale we are going to use
Ebay Purchase Program which will cover the purchases up to 20,000
USD.Please also provide me with the following details necessary to take
a decision:
-full name and address
If you agree with my terms,i will need your name and address and i
will contact ebay to inform them about our agreement and to start the
program to protect us.If this is ok with you and you want me to explain
how the process works,please email me and i will do that.
Here you can se more
pictures:http://s278.photobucket.com/albums/kk84/irine22u/MY%20G35/
Thank you and i will wait for your email.
Martha Campos
Harry - I would try to contact eBay about that one. The seller’s email sounds like fraud to me, but eBay is an upstanding dealer, for the most part.
harry i got the same email when i tried to buy a 240sx off of him, i google’d his photobucket nick and got this site, and once i saw the email he sent you, its IDENTICAL to the one he sent me, definately a scam. read the email
Hi,
First of all,i must apologize for my reticence with selling my car.I love this car and it means a lot to me.I am forced by a bank loan to sell it.The loan does not involved her ,but i need the money and i must do that.It is in perfect condition, with no need for additional repairs, no scratches, dings, special marks whatsoever.I have the pictures hosted on the net and you can see them at :
http://s278.photobucket.com/albums/kk84/irine22u/my%20car/
I need to know you,even if that means by email before i sell you the car.Even if i seem a little paranoid,i will not sell this car to anyone.I took very good care of her and i feel very attached to her.The price is $4500 including shipping costs anywhere in the continental US. There are no other costs regarding this transaction.The transaction will be closed only through Ebay Purchase Program which will cover the purchases up to 20,000 USD.Please also provide me with the following details necessary to take a decision:
-your full name and shipping address
and this way we will both be protected. My time is limited so I decided to use a service from Ebay Purchase Program.
If you agree with my terms,i will need your full name and shipping address and i will contact ebay to inform them about our agreement and to start the program to protect us.If this is ok with you and you want me to explain how the process works,please email me and i will do that.
Thank you and i will wait for your email.
i think its a scam, so i wouldn’t risk it
Add A Comment